The Board of Directors is a corporate body who exercises its functions by fulfilling a largely strategic role in the running of the Academy by:

  • Settings aims and objectives for the Academy
  • Adopting policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Setting targets for achieving those aims and objectivesThe Headteacher has responsibility for the internal organisation, management and control of the Academy and for the implementation of the strategic framework agreed by the Board of Directors. Directors are not involved in the detail of the day-to-day management of the Academy.


The Board of Directors is formed as follows:-


Sara Gorrod


Julia Foote, Sue Parry, Graham Underhill


Dawn Copland, Jane Purchase


Richard Hunt (Chair of the Board of Directors) Buckler’s Mead Academy, 1 St. John’s Rd, Yeovil, Somerset, BA21 4NH , John Crew (Vice Chair), Denise Gommo, Malcolm Gulliver, Pauline Hutchings, Martin Salzer, Colin Thomas

Co-opted Directors

John Evans and Steve Lawes

For a full membership list of Committees and Advisory groups, please click here